2 weeks into IT job and 1 month into marriage (Desktop Engineer L1)

So. I need to start my business. I have been stagnant the past couple of weeks because of other things I want or need to do. I know I need to, but things have been just… so blah. I know opportunity usually comes in such seasons and I should be looking out and I am. Only to get scammed into some Multi Level Marketing kind of scheme. It really is very toxic to be in such an environment. I wouldn’t wish it on any of my friends or enemies.

It is kind of frustrating really to be on the lookout for opportunity yet not managing to find any.

Anyways, during my first few days of work, I learnt quite a lot about computers and desktop support roles. After which I realized that my job was basically to rinse and repeat. Boring!

Well to be fair, I made my fair share of mistakes especially when it came to troubleshooting computer problems which I myself have never encountered before, for example permissions… I never ever had to share a computer with anyone so I had no experience whatsoever with file security and permissions. So, what happened was i wiped someone’s permissions completely and she had to have those permissions restored. Even after restoration, there were lock images on all of her file icons. Whats worse is that now, even her Adobe reader isn’t working. It is quite frustrating, especially in a large enterprise where I only have small windows of time to work on solving a problem. Even when I have time, the user is not there so I cannot simply restart the computer to check if the problem is solved.

So… Key skills for a desktop engineer in my opinion as of now is

  1. Experience (if you’ve solved it before, you can easily do so again)
  2. Identifying of problem (knowledge is quite important because proper diagnosis requires understanding of how things work)
  3. Luck. Basically.

I always thought computers are logical things which either go 1 or 0. After 3 weeks of work, I am quite assured that they are strange creations. Perhaps the complexity of binary has confused the system itself? whatever. I do hope I will be assigned to more projects or a permanent location soon. I am making good relationships with my current buddy but the relationship will be very sad when we change locations. 😦 I will be sad, at least.

My lovely wife is biting off a lot more than she can chew. Well, I sure pray and hope she can chew that much things.

And seriously, I hate Lizards and Cockroaches.

In the eye of the internet, I thank the Lord Jesus that He has blessed my home with abundance and sanctified my home from all manner of Pests (Ants, Cockroaches, Lizards etc.). Amen.

The Lord cares about every little detail in my life. I believe it. Amen. Jesus is the best. He restored me much more than what I had previously.

I was a jobless broke fellow who seemed to be going nowhere. Now I am an engineer that has a career in front of him. (Amen!) Previously I was broken hearted and lonely. Now I am blessed with a beautiful loving (albeit a little lazy) wife and a beautiful home.

I may not be very financially wealthy now, but I know the Lord will give me wisdom to acquire riches that I need. Amen!

Leave a comment